Members of Goodarzi Lab

Principal Investigator


Hani Goodarzi, PhD


Department of Biochemistry & Biophysics
Department of Urology
Helen Diller Family Comprehensive Cancer Center
Institute for Computational Health Sciences

Curriculum Vitae

hani.goodarzi@ucsf.edu


Postdoctoral Fellows


Lisa Fish, PhD

Postdoctoral Fellow (NIH T32)

Department of Biochemistry & Biophysics
Department of Urology,
and Helen Diller Cancer Center

lisa.fish@ucsf.edu

Albertas Navickas, PhD

Postdoctoral Fellow (DOD PRCRP fellow)

Department of Biochemistry & Biophysics
Department of Urology
Helen Diller Cancer Center

albertas.navickas@ucsf.edu


Ruhollah Moussavi Baygi, PhD

Postdoctoral Scholar

Joint with Felix Feng (Lab website)

Department of Radiation Oncology,
Department of Urology

ruhollah@ucsf.edu

Heather Karner, PhD

Postdoctoral Scholar

Joint with Vijay Ramani (Lab website)

Department of Biochemistry & Biophysics
Helen Diller Cancer Center
Institute for Computational Health Sciences

heather.karner@ucsf.edu


Mehran Karimzadeh, PhD

Postdoctoral Scholar

Joint with Bo Wang (Lab website)

Department of Biochemistry & Biophysics
Helen Diller Cancer Center
Institute for Computational Health Sciences

mkarimzadeh@vectorinstitute.ai

Benedict Choi, PhD

Postdoctoral Scholar

Department of Biochemistry & Biophysics
Department of Urology
Helen Diller Cancer Center

benedict.choi@ucsf.edu


Siyu Chen, PhD

Postdoctoral Scholar

Department of Biochemistry & Biophysics
Department of Urology
Helen Diller Cancer Center

chensiyu1031@gmail.com


Graduate Students


Johnny Yu

Graduate Student

Biomedical Sciences Program

johnny.yu@ucsf.edu

Matvei Khoroshkin

Graduate Student

Bioinformatics Program

khorms21@gmail.com


Brian Woo

Graduate Student

Biomedical Sciences Program

brian.woo@ucsf.edu

Bahar Zirak

Graduate Student

Biomedical Sciences Program

bahar.zirak@ucsf.edu


Scott Nanda

Graduate Student

Joint with Vijay Ramani (Lab website)

Bioinformatics Program

scott.nanda@ucsf.edu

Laurel Estes

Graduate Student

Joint with Vijay Ramani (Lab website)

Bioinformatics Program

laurel.estes@ucsf.edu


Aidan Winters

Graduate Student

Joint with Luke Gilbert (Lab website)

Bioinformatics Program

aidan.winters@ucsf.edu

Timmy Suh

Graduate Student

Biomedical Sciences Program

timmy.suh@ucsf.edu


Noam Teyssier

Graduate Student

Joint with Martin Kampmann (Lab website)

Bioinformatics Program

noam.teyssier@ucsf.edu


Research Associates


Kristle Garcia

Junior Specialist

Department of Biochemistry & Biophysics
Department of Urology

kristlegarcia@berkeley.edu

Jeffrey Wang

Bioinformatics Specialist

Joint with Andrei Goga and Noelle L'Etoile

Department of Biochemistry & Biophysics
Department of Urology

jeffrey.wang2@ucsf.edu


Sohit Miglani

Bioinformatics Specialist

Joint with Davide Ruggero (Lab Website)

Department of Biochemistry & Biophysics
Department of Urology

sohit.miglani@ucsf.edu

Darya Dyachkova

Bioinformatics Specialist

Joint with Faranak Fattahi (Lab Website)

Department of Biochemistry & Biophysics
Department of Urology

darya.dyachkova@ucsf.edu


Tanvi Joshi

Junior Specialist

Department of Biochemistry & Biophysics
Department of Urology

tanvi.joshi@ucsf.edu

Ziad Ahmed

Bioinformatics Specialist

Joint with Mark Magbanua (Profile)

Department of Biochemistry & Biophysics
Department of Urology

ziad.ahmed@ucsf.edu


Alumni


Hosseinali Asgharian, PhD

Then: Postdoctoral Fellow (NIH F32)
Now: Principal Bioinformatics Scientist at Roche AG

Abolfazl Arab

Then: Bioinformatics Specialist
Now: Bioinformatics Specialist at Gilbert Lab

Phi Nguyen

Then: Junior Specialist
Now: Graduate Student at Harvard University

Bruce Culbertson

Then: Junior Specialist
Now: MSTP student at Columbia University

Steven Zhang

Then: HHMI medical student fellow
Now: Orthopaedic Surgery Resident at University of Pennsylvania

Yikai Luo

Then: Visiting undergraduate student
Now: Graduate Student at Baylor College of Medicine

Myles Hochman

Then: Graduate student
Now: RA at Octant

Benjamin Haenisch

Then: Visiting medical student
Now: Medical student at Aachen University

Rithvik Baratam

Then: Visiting undergraduate student
Now: Undergraduate student at Baylor University

Roy Garcia

Then: Visiting undergraduate student
Now: Graduate student at UT Southwestern Medical Center

John Paolo Olegario

Then: Volunteer

Anthony Doty

Then: Masters Student at University of San Francisco
Now: RA at Apton Biosystems

Fathima Trejo

Then: Masters Student at University of San Francisco
Now: Quality Control Analyst at Genentech

Sarah Sorenson

Then: Undergraduate volunteer at Mills College

Sahar Tavakoli, PhD

Then: Postdoctoral Scholar
Now: Data Scientist at ProdermIQ, Inc.

Join Our Team

Our team consists of bioinformaticians, molecular biologists, and cancer researchers. If you are interested in working in a multidisciplinary environement where you are exposed to multiple key areas of cancer biology, join the Goodarzi lab at UCSF.


Postdoctoral candidates

We are looking for post docs in computational biology, RNA biology, and cancer. Please send a cover letter and your CV to Hani Goodarzi


Graduate Students

We accepts graduate students from Tetrad, BMS, and IPQB programs. Students in other programs are also encouraged to rotate with us.


Volunteers

Current undergraduates who are interested in volunteering should send a CV and cover letter.

Contact us