Members of Goodarzi Lab


Principal Investigator


Hani Goodarzi, PhD


Department of Biochemistry & Biophysics
Department of Urology
Helen Diller Family Comprehensive Cancer Center
Institute for Computational Health Sciences

Curriculum Vitae

hani.goodarzi@ucsf.edu


Postdoctoral Fellows


Albertas Navickas, PhD

Postdoctoral Fellow (DOD PRCRP fellow)

Department of Biochemistry & Biophysics
Department of Urology
Helen Diller Cancer Center

albertas.navickas@ucsf.edu

Ruhollah Moussavi Baygi, PhD

Postdoctoral Scholar

Joint with Felix Feng (Lab website)

Department of Radiation Oncology,
Department of Urology

ruhollah@ucsf.edu


Heather Karner, PhD

Postdoctoral Scholar

Joint with Vijay Ramani (Lab website)

Department of Biochemistry & Biophysics
Helen Diller Cancer Center
Institute for Computational Health Sciences

heather.karner@ucsf.edu

Mehran Karimzadeh, PhD

Postdoctoral Scholar

Joint with Bo Wang (Lab website)

Department of Biochemistry & Biophysics
Helen Diller Cancer Center
Institute for Computational Health Sciences

mkarimzadeh@vectorinstitute.ai


Benedict Choi, PhD

Postdoctoral Scholar

Department of Biochemistry & Biophysics
Department of Urology
Helen Diller Cancer Center

benedict.choi@ucsf.edu

Siyu Chen, PhD

Postdoctoral Scholar

Department of Biochemistry & Biophysics
Department of Urology
Helen Diller Cancer Center

siyu.chen2@ucsf.edu


Shaopu Zhou, PhD

Postdoctoral Scholar

Department of Biochemistry & Biophysics
Department of Urology
Helen Diller Cancer Center

shaopu.zhou@ucsf.edu



Graduate Students


Matvei Khoroshkin

Graduate Student

Biological and Medical Informatics Program

khorms21@gmail.com

Brian Woo

Graduate Student

Biomedical Sciences Graduate Program

brian.woo@ucsf.edu


Bahar Zirak

Graduate Student

Biomedical Sciences Graduate Program

bahar.zirak@ucsf.edu

Scott Nanda

Graduate Student

Joint with Vijay Ramani (Lab website)

Biological and Medical Informatics Program

scott.nanda@ucsf.edu


Aidan Winters

Graduate Student

Joint with Luke Gilbert (Lab website)

Biological and Medical Informatics Program

aidan.winters@ucsf.edu

Timmy Suh

Graduate Student

Biomedical Sciences Graduate Program

timmy.suh@ucsf.edu


Noam Teyssier

Graduate Student

Joint with Martin Kampmann (Lab website)

Biological and Medical Informatics Program

noam.teyssier@ucsf.edu

Brenda Melano

Graduate Student

Joint with Alejandro Sweet-Cordero (Lab website)

Pharmaceutical Sciences and Pharmacogenomics (PSPG) Graduate Program

brenda.melano@ucsf.edu



Research Associates



Tanvi Joshi

Junior Specialist

Department of Biochemistry & Biophysics
Department of Urology

tanvi.joshi@ucsf.edu

Ziad Ahmed

Bioinformatics Specialist

Joint with Mark Magbanua (Profile)

Department of Biochemistry & Biophysics
Department of Urology

ziad.ahmed@ucsf.edu


Keyi Yin

Junior Specialist

Department of Biochemistry & Biophysics
Department of Urology

keyi.yin@ucsf.edu

Abolfazl Arab

Bioinformatics Specialist

Joint with Luke Gilbert (Lab Website)

Department of Biochemistry & Biophysics
Department of Urology

abolfazl.arab@ucsf.edu


Alma Gashi

Bioinformatics Specialist

Department of Biochemistry & Biophysics
Department of Urology

alma.gashi@ucsf.edu

Jackson Goudreau

Bioinformatics Specialist

Department of Biochemistry & Biophysics
Department of Urology

jackson.goudreau@ucsf.edu


Undergraduate Students


Tabea Mittmann

Visiting Medical Student
MD fellowship by the Boehringer Ingelheim Fonds

Department of Biochemistry & Biophysics
Department of Urology

tabea.mittmann@ucsf.edu

Nathan Pellini

Student Intern

College of Engineering
UC Berkeley

nathan.pellini@ucsf.edu


Alumni

Former Postdocs

Lisa Fish

Then: Postdoctoral Fellow (NIH T32)
Now: Director of Research at Exai Bio

Hosseinali Asgharian, PhD

Then: Postdoctoral Fellow (NIH F32)
Now: Principal Bioinformatics Scientist at Roche AG

Sahar Tavakoli, PhD

Then: Postdoctoral Scholar
Now: Data Scientist at ProdermIQ, Inc.


Former Grad Students

Johnny Yu

Then: Graduate Student (BMS)
Now: Founder and CSO at Stealth Startup

Myles Hochman

Then: Graduate student
Now: RA at Octant



Former Research Assistants

Jeff Wang

Then: Junior Specialist
Now: Bioinformatics Scientist at Exai Bio

Phi Nguyen

Then: Junior Specialist
Now: Graduate Student at Harvard University

Darya Dyachkova

Then: Junior Specialist
Now: Data Scientist at Roc360

Bruce Culbertson

Then: Junior Specialist
Now: MSTP student at Columbia University

Sohit Miglani

Then: Junior Specialist
Now: Graduate Student at Princeton University

Kristle Garcia

Then: Junior Specialist
Now: Graduate Student at Stanford University


Former Visiting Students

Yikai Luo

Then: Visiting undergraduate student
Now: Graduate Student at Baylor College of Medicine

Benjamin Haenisch

Then: Visiting medical student
Now: Medical student at Aachen University

Rithvik Baratam

Then: Visiting undergraduate student
Now: Undergraduate student at Baylor University

Roy Garcia

Then: Visiting undergraduate student
Now: Graduate student at UT Southwestern Medical Center

John Paolo Olegario

Then: Volunteer
Now: Student at City College of San Francisco

Anthony Doty

Then: Masters Student at USF
Now: RA at Apton Biosystems

Fathima Trejo

Then: Masters Student at University of San Francisco
Now: Quality Control Analyst at Genentech

Sarah Sorenson

Then: Undergraduate volunteer at Mills College
Now: Student Researcher at Mills Cognition Lab

Daniel Markett

Then: Visiting Medical Student
Now: Medical Student at University of M√ľnster

Lixi Luo

Then: Visiting medical student
Now: Breast cancer surgeon


Join Our Team

Our team consists of bioinformaticians, molecular biologists, and cancer researchers. If you are interested in working in a multidisciplinary environement where you are exposed to multiple key areas of cancer biology, join the Goodarzi lab at UCSF.


Postdoctoral candidates

We are looking for post docs in computational biology, RNA biology, and cancer. Please send a cover letter and your CV to Hani Goodarzi.


Graduate Students

We accepts graduate students from Tetrad, BMS, BMI and IPQB programs at UCSF. Students in other programs at UCSF are also encouraged to rotate with us.


Volunteers

Current undergraduates who are interested in volunteering should send a CV to Hani Goodarzi.

Contact us